Posted by: Michael | January 16, 2012

Fear Thou Not…

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. – Isaiah 41:10

The dictionary describes fear as a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid. God has commanded us to not be fearful. And yet this powerful emotion is with us all day every day. After all he created this emotion. We tend to be in fear of many things. Today some of us fear losing our homes or jobs, we are afraid that we may not be good enough, or that someone may not like us. Some of us are even afraid of God. We fear His wrath upon us, we fear that he is angry with us, or that if don’t do this or that He is going to punish you in some way.

It is said that babies have only two innate fears. The fear of the dark and the fear of falling. Everything else is learned. Some fear is good. It can keep us from danger or harm. But the kind of fear God is referring to is the fear of the unknown. Of not knowing what the future holds. This causes worry and worry is caused by unbelief.  We either have trouble believing or flat out just don’t believe God can or will do anything. We look at the circumstances around us and try to assess what can we do to rectify the situation. How can we with are limited intellect solve this problem? No matter how much education or knowledge you possess your intellect is still limited. There are some questions none of us can answer. There are some things that only God can fix. Some situations are within our power to correct. In those cases God expects us to do just that. But still He gave you the intellect to be able to fix what is wrong. He should be thanked and praised for that as well.

But what about the possibility of losing your home due to no fault of your own? You may have gotten a notice that your company is downsizing and your job is on the line. You may have gotten a bad report from the doctor.  Our government instills fear in us warning us of possible terrorist attacks, advertisers make us question whether or not our retirement is enough, a food or drug that was good for you last year may have harmed you in some way today. We fear getting older, getting sick, not having enough money, the list goes on and on. Don’t get me wrong these are legitimate concerns. God in His infinite wisdom knew that there would be things that would cause us to be fearful. That’s why He made provision for it. He is our future right now. He has been from the beginning.

What does God say about fear and worry? His word has plenty to say about it. In Isaiah 41:10 it says, “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed for I am thy God”.  In 2 Timothy 1:7 It states that He has not given us a spirit of fear. Hebrews 13:6, “So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me”. And these are only a few verses. The point of this is that God is saying I know all about these things that trouble you, but take heart I will take care of you.

The word of God admonishes us not to fear or worry about anything. Philippians 4:6 says Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. In 1 Peter 5:7 the word of God tells us to cast all your care upon Him for he careth for you.

From the foundation of the world He knew about every trial you would face nothing catches God off guard. He is in control of everything. You may be in the midst of a trial that is draining the life out of you. The anguish and the pain are at times unbearable. You would think that you have no more tears left, but you continue to weep over whatever this situation might be. Brothers and sisters this is the time to praise God. I know you may not feel like it. You may be asking the question are you saying that I should give Him praise and thanks for what I am going through? Yes, a thousand times yes! I know what it is like to be in such anguish that it becomes a physical pain. To be in such turmoil you don’t know which way to turn. Weeping bitterly because there was not a thing I could do about what I was going through. Only God could help me. There was no help in any man or woman.

Sometimes all I could do was whisper the name of Jesus between sobs. He promised He would help me and I held on to that. Though I saw no relief in sight at that time I knew He was right there with me. His angels bearing me up in their hands. There were days where I just knew I could not take anymore. It hurt too bad and the pain kept coming and coming. There were many days I’m sure that God had to carry me through the valley I was in because I just didn’t have the strength to continue to walk beside Him. But I refused not to trust Him. I refused to not believe His promises. I never let my faith waiver.

The enemy tried to make me believe that there was no help for me. God had allowed this attack on me and the enemy was determined to drive me to my knees in defeat. Well he succeeded in literally driving to my knees I will admit that. But while I was down there I praised God. I worshiped Him, thanked Him, gave Him praise and glory in spite of all I was going through. My friends if you want to infuriate the enemy this is the way to do it. Give God glory no matter how bad it seems. Then watch God turn everything around. I thank God for what I went through because it drew me closer to Him. He showed me things about myself that needed His touch. He revealed things about Himself that I never knew. The Bible says more to me now than it ever did. For this I give Him praise and honor and glory.

No matter what your situation is today don’t give in to the tricks and lies of the devil. Take everything to God in prayer and thank Him for the resolution to the problem even though you can’t see it right now. The enemy comes to kill, steal and to destroy. If he can do this to your faith and trust in God and His word you will have conceded the victory to Him. Even if you have done it, repent right now. Ask God for forgiveness and for the strength to continue to fight until He makes manifest your victory.

The enemy is defeated. He was vanquished over 2000 years ago. How do I know? The word of God says so, Colossians 2:15 says, “And having spoiled principalities and powers (Jesus), he made a shew of them openly, triumphing over them in it”. This means that all power now belongs to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!  Death has no victory over us, the power of the devil to ensnare us was destroyed. Not only that, he made a show of them openly. This means that every devil and heavenly host was a witness to the complete, undeniable victory Jesus achieved. Had He not done it in the open for all to see His victory could be called into question. It could always be said how can we know that you won? No one saw it. But Jesus made sure that in the spiritual realm every principality and power knew that the devil was defeated. The only power he has is what we give him.

So you see Jesus has already won the battle. There is no need to fight the devil again. Remind him that Jesus defeated you long ago and in His name I command you to go. As a child of God you have power of him. He has none over you. Fight the good fight of faith. Believe God’s word. Don’t let go of it.

Heavenly Father,

I thank you for the victories you are bringing into the lives of my brothers and sisters today. Remind them that they are children of the Most High God and greater is He that is in us than he that is in the world. Remind them that in  times of heartache, struggle and all manner of difficulties you are with them. Thank you for comforting them in their time of need. I ask this in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen.

Responses

  1. I read this message with tears, Michael! You did an awesome job of showing us all the truth. In every thing and in every way, God is with us. You said something that just sticks in my mind when talking about God you said, ” He is our future now. He has been from the beginning”. Of course I know that yet it never rang so true for me as when you wrote it just now. He is our future. Why do we worry about what will happen or might happen or did happen? All we have to know is that God is our future and he promises us eternity with him that a place that words cannot describe.

    God bless you, dear brother. You are truly being used by God!

  2. God has blessed you dear sister… Never forget that. I know it hurts, but He is right there by your side along with that legion of angels you told me about.

    You see I never forgot that you said that. There is a battle being waged in the spiritual realm on our behalf right now. If God opened our eyes to see it I think that we would be amazed at the war being waged because of our faith in God and His word.

    Commit Frank to God. There is nothing you can do. You have done all you can. Rest now and just believe that God has it all under control.

  3. I just love how God works through all of us. Your words, were. Just the right words that I needed to share with someone, and to start the conversation we had. Thanks for being a faithful servant.

    • You are more than welcome! But give God the praise for the great things He has done!


Leave a Reply

Categories

